Sunday, May 30, 2010

1907 and 1908 Straits Settlements 1 dollar silver coin (damage)

Straits Settlements King Edward VII One Dollar 1907 and 1908

This two coins are consider the damage coin(got hole at the center)and "no value" to collectors.
I think it is still got some value to others since it is silver coin.
(maybe for a souveniers or for whatever reasons)

Price:RM100 for both

Straits Settlements definition

Straits Settlements, collective name for certain former British colonies in Southeast Asia. The three British East India Company territories of Pinang, Singapore, and Malacca (see Melaka) were given a unified administration in 1826 and called the Straits Settlements. The company was dissolved in 1858, and the territories were placed under the jurisdiction of the India Office. In 1867 the Straits Settlements became a crown colony administered by the Colonial Office. Labuan, which had been made a dependency of Singapore in 1906, was constituted a fourth Settlement in 1912. (Christmas Island and the Cocos Islands had been made dependencies of Singapore in 1889 and 1903, respectively.) The Straits Settlement crown colony was dissolved in 1946; Singapore with its dependencies became a separate crown colony, and Pinang and Malacca were included in the Malayan Union, which became the Federation of Malaya in 1948, now Malaysia.

Malaya in 1922.
The unfederated Malay states in blue, the Federated Malay States (FMS) in yellow and the British Straits Settlements in red
Capital Singapore
Language(s) Malay, English, Chinese languages, Indian languages
Government Monarchy
- 1820–30 George IV
- 1936–52 George VI
- 1826–30 Robert Fullerton
- 1934–46 Shenton Thomas
Historical era British Empire
- Established 1826
- Disestablished 1946
Currency Straits dollar, until 1939
Malayan dollar, from 1939
Preceded by Succeeded by
Dutch Malacca
Malayan Union
North Borneo

1: Also as the British High Commissioner to the FMS and North Borneo

The Straits Settlements were a group of British territories located in Southeast Asia.

Originally established in 1826 as part of the territories controlled by the British East India Company, the Straits Settlements came under direct British control as a crown colony on 1 April 1867. The colony was dissolved as part of the British reorganisation of its South-East Asian dependencies following the end of the Second World War.

The Straits Settlements consisted of the individual settlements of Malacca, Penang (also known as Prince of Wales Island), and Singapore, as well as (from 1907) Labuan, off the coast of Borneo. With the exception of Singapore, these territories now form part of Malaysia.


711Collection said...

Hi Baharuddin, U have a great collection here...

just feel free to visit my collection and store.
a lot of banknotes & coins just relist for sale.

Havev a great Day

Thank you

baharuddinaziz said...

Thks 711, I already visited and followed all your 4 blogs. You have a great postcard collection. Later I will upload some of stamps collection.


Pixsman said...

Dear Friend,

I collect old documents of Singapore.If you find any call email me at

I have the original deed of Kampong Glam SIngapore signed by Sultan Ali 1845


Take Care.

Simon Monteiro
Historical Land Pte LTD

baharuddinaziz said...

great...we are in the same boat..will share with later about my land deed collection which is mostly come from Malaysia

Post a Comment